Glues for Jewelry Bails

Some of the Facebook groups that I am a part of have had new artists ask what to use for the gluing of bails onto pendants. I personally have used two types of glues, one of which I prefer to the other.

I have personally used both E-6000 and Goop. Both hold equally well with the way I attach the bails but I prefer E-6000 as it does not have as strong of a smell as the Goop does.

Now I attach the bails with allow the pendants to sit for 24 hours and then I place them into a toaster oven and heat to 200 degrees to 250 degrees for 30 minutes. The toaster oven is one that I have dedicated to only my glasswork. This means that I do not use this toaster oven for anything food-related.

Every time that I have suggested this method to those on Facebook, there has been some backlash. People suggest that the glue will give off a toxic substance and of course that it does work. Well, I put this to the test today when I put some pieces that had been dried for 24 hours into the toaster oven and found a few pendants that I had forgotten about in a baggie that had not been cured in the toaster oven. The pendants had been glued over two weeks before.

After my pendants were completed and cooled I placed pressure on each bail to make sure they held. Out of 35 pendants, only one did not hold. Then I took the 12 pendants from the baggie that had been glued over 2 weeks before but had not been placed in the toaster oven. Out of these 12 pendants, all but one came off.

After my pendants were completed and cooled I placed pressure on each bail to make sure they held. Out of 35 pendants, only one did not hold. Then I took the 12 pendants from the baggie that had been glued over 2 weeks before but had not been place in the toaster oven. Out of these 12 pendants, all but one came off.

Leave a comment