Removal of Kiln Wash Glass

It seems like every time I fire my kiln, I always have some kiln wash that sticks to the glass. This even happens to transparent glasses like the pendant shown below that was fired upside down with the clear on the kiln shelf.

Usually I will soak in water and vinegar but this take a few minutes and sometimes this does not remove the kiln wash completely. In the above case I wanted to flip fire this pendant immediately along with other pendants.

I have a sponge sander that I use on on my kiln shelves when scrapping just does not remove all the kiln wash. I wetted both the sponge sander (see below) along with the pendant and used circular motions and the kiln wash was removed. So much faster and I was able to then clean the pieces and fire immediately.

Leave a comment